Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Hi, What an exciting first week on additional paternity leave we have had.

We had our first solo rhythm and rhyme session with the little lady last week and do you know what? Despite my reservations prior to going, it wasn’t actually too bad!

I had a fine Balance to achieve, too early and I’m sitting making small talk for longer than necessary, too late and I’m plunged into a seat good knows where, where I may be forced into potentially awkward pleasantries.

As it turns out I want the only male, there was another father and also a grandfather which reassured me, even though I didn’t get to speak to them. I did however feel welcomed by some of the mothers.

As for the class itself I didn’t feel it was massively beneficial for a six month old but she seemed to enjoy it with our hand clapping and singing. She also enjoyed watching the other kids, some of whom are hilarious putting on the little hats to match the songs.

Maybe I led a sheltered life but I actually found out educational, who knew the bus with the wheels going round had so many passengers.

One concern I did pick up however is that we are sitting as parents with our children, some coughing and sneezing in a small room which is pretty hot in the middle of winter. Surely that’s a recipe for spreading viruses.

Will I be back? Why yes of course, I’m already booked for this week, although I may bring a breathing mask!

Am I now brave enough to take a mother and toddler group? Not so much..

P

